The SAA is governed by a board of twelve Trustees who fulfill rotating terms of three years each. All current members of the Shakespeare Association of America are entitled to vote in officer elections.

On 1 January each year, to accompany the release of the January Bulletin, a slate of candidates is announced to fill three open positions on the Board of  Trustees. 

Voting for SAA officers begins on 1 January and closes on 15 February each year. A link to the ballot is posted on the SAA website during this period.

Trustees are responsible for setting Association policy, for planning conference programs, and for financial oversight. They also head the selection processes for grants, awards, prizes, and paper competitions. The Trustees appoint the organization’s Executive Director, who works with its Assistant Director, Programs Manager, and Programs Associate.

The SAA is committed to democratic and transparent governance and to the advancement of knowledge about Shakespeare, his works, and his life and times.