SAA First Book Award

This award honors Jerome Singerman, pioneering publisher in early modern studies and supporter of early career scholars in the field.

The 2025 prize will be awarded to a monograph with a significant Shakespeare component published as the first book-length publication by a current member of the association between 1 September 2023 and 1 September 2024. Applicants must be SAA members in good standing.

Applications are comprised of three parts:

  • A completed online form.
  • A cover letter of no more than two pages (in twelve-point Times Roman font, double-spaced, and with standard one-inch margins), providing an abstract and chapter outline of the book.
  • The introduction to the book or a sample chapter of the applicant’s choice.

A short list of candidates will be asked to submit electronic copies of their full books for further review. Application materials are reviewed by a committee headed by a member of the SAA’s Board of Trustees.

The First Book Award is presented at the SAA’s Annual Luncheon each year.

Click here to apply. (forthcoming August 2024)

Deadline: 1 October 2024.